

Registrar of Voters county of Tulare AGENDA ITEM

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

KUYLER CROCKER District One

PETE VANDER POEL District Two

> AMY SHUKLIAN District Three

J. STEVEN WORTHLEY District Four

> MIKE ENNIS District Five

AGENDA DATE:	November 6	. 2018	REVISED

SUBJECT: Appointments In Lieu of Election

REQUEST(S):

That the Board of Supervisors:

- 1. Approve the In Lieu of Election short-term appointments to Special Districts for terms ending December 4, 2020 as indicated on Attachment A.
- 2. Approve the In Lieu of Election appointments to Special Districts for terms ending December 2, 2022 as indicated on Attachment B.

SUMMARY:

Per Elections Code Section 10515, if only one person has filed a declaration of candidacy for any elective office to be filled at that election, the supervising authority, at a regular or special meeting held prior to the Monday before the first Friday in December in which the election is to be held, shall appoint to the office or offices the person or persons who have filed declarations of candidacy.

FISCAL IMPACT/FINANCING:

There is no fiscal impact to the County.

LINKAGE TO THE COUNTY OF TULARE STRATEGIC BUSINESS PLAN:

The County's Five-year Strategic Plan includes the Organization Performance Initiative to continuously improve organizational effectiveness and fiscal stability. Approving the appointments In Lieu of Election helps fulfill this initiative by ensuring that we provide the public with quality services that are timely and responsive to our duties as Elections Officials.

SUBJECT:

Appointments In Lieu of Election

DATE:

November 6, 2018

ADMINISTRATIVE SIGN-OFF:

Wichele Baldwin

Michelle Baldwin Registrar of Voters

CC:

County Administrative Office

Attachment(s) Attachment A – Short Term Appointments

Attachment B – Regular Term Appointments

BEFORE THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF TULARE, STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN THE MATTER OF APPROVING IN LIEU OF ELECTION APPOINTMENT TO SPECIAL DISTRICTS	TS) Resolution No) Agreement No
UPON MOTION OF SUPERVISO	OR, SECONDED BY
SUPERVISOR	_, THE FOLLOWING WAS ADOPTED BY THE
BOARD OF SUPERVISORS, AT AN OF	FFICIAL MEETING HELD
, BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:	
AYES: NOES: ABSTAIN: ABSENT: ATTEST:	JASON T. BRITT
	COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER/ CLERK, BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
BY:	Deputy Clerk
	* * * * * * * * * * * *
* * * * * *	* * * * * * * * *

- 1. Approved the In Lieu of Election short-term appointments to Special Districts for terms ending December 4, 2020 as indicated on Attachment A.
- 2. Approved the In Lieu of Election appointments to Special Districts for terms ending December 2, 2022 as indicated on Attachment B.

Attachment A

Appointments In Lieu of Election for terms ending December 4, 2020

London Community Services District

Tony P. Brito, Jr.

Poplar Community Services District

Somphane Hunter Sara Arellano Sandra Garcia

Alta Healthcare District

Margie Ann Davidian, Zone 5 Ramond K. Millard, Zone 2

Lindsay-Strathmore Irrigation District

Michael D. George, Division 3 Starr Warson, Division 4

Springville Memorial District

Ronald E. Relyea, Veteran Greg King, Veteran Gregory A. Stoffel, Non-Veteran

Attachment B

Appointments In Lieu of Election for terms ending December 2, 2022

Alpaugh Community Services District

James S. Atwell Karla Jean Field Alpine-Sequoia Community Services District

Rick Spansail Kurt Wendelyn Scott Daniels

Ducor Community Services District

Ruth M. Martinez Arnulfo Flores **Goshen Community Services District**

Carmen Valdez Kevin Allen Bell

London Community Services District

Virginia Negrete Sue Morgan Ponderosa Community Services District

Robert K. Cope

Sultana Community Services District

Kari F. Gonzales-Quintana Michael S. Prado, Sr. Fred Tuttle **Teviston Community Services District**

Martin G. Correa, Jr.

Three Rivers Community Services District

Mignon Gregg David Mills **Tipton Community Services District**

Janice McKay Jerry L. Stover Bobby R. Jackson

Kings River Conservation District

Chris M. Kapheim, Division 1 D. Paul Stanfield, Division 5 Strathmore Fire District

Allaney Briggs

Alta Healthcare District

Javier Quevedo, Zone 1 Yvette B. Botello, Zone 3 Martha Swaim, Zone 4 **Exeter Ambulance District**

Adam Pfenning, District 2

Kaweah Delta Health Care

David M. Francis, Zone 4

Sierra View Local Hospital

Ashok Behl, Zone 3 Kent M. Sorrells, Zone 5

Tulare Local Health Care District

Stephen C. Harrell, Director 1 Senovia Gutierrez, Director 3 Xavier Avila, Director 5 Alta Irrigation District

Jack W. Brandt, Division 2 Tom Marshall, Division 5

Delano-Earlimart Irrigation District

Kelley T. Hampton, Division 1 Nick J. Canata, Division 2 Harold D. Nelson, Division 3 **Exeter Irrigation District**

Gregory V. Crosson, Division 1 Ralph E. Fuller, Division 4 Stanley L. Cosart, Division 5

Ivanhoe Irrigation District

Gary S. Caviglia Vito De Leonardis Steven Paregien **Lindmore Irrigation District**

Ron D. Adam, Division 1
Michael R. Brownfield, Division 2
David A. De Paoli, Division 4

Lindsay-Strathmore Irrigation District

Dennis Imoto, Division 1 Jeffrey A. Tienken, Division 2

Pixley Irrigation District

Neal R. Westbrook, Division 1 Bill DeGroot, Division 2 Russell James Schott, Division 4

Saucelito Irrigation District

Steven G. Kisling, Division 4 Robert D. McCloskey, Division 5

Terra Bella Irrigation District

Brent E. Doyel, Division 1 Alfredo Martinez, Division 5

Dinuba Memorial District

Robert O. Olivas, Director 1-Veteran

Porterville Memorial District

John R. Alba, Seat #1-Veteran Francisco S. Nuno, Seat #2-Veteran

Springville Memorial District

Jerry McCleary, Director #4-Non-Veteran David W. Eshelman, Director #5- Veteran

Three Rivers Memorial District

James Patrick Benner, Seat #1-Veteran Maureen "Mo" Basham, Seat #2-Veteran

Woodlake Memorial District

Terry Thompson, Veteran David "Doc" Harrow, Veteran

Earlimart Public Utility District

Silvestre Torres Vargas, Seat #2

Orosi Public Utility District

Romelia Nino Castillo, Seat #3 Alex Marroquin, Seat #5

Porter Vista Public Utility District

Gary Lasure, Seat #4 Lewis Sewell, Seat #5 Kit Murphy, Seat #2

Deer Creek Storm Water District

Wade S. Magden Shirley Paddock

Lower Tule River Irrigation District

Alexander Garcia, Division 1 James J. Costa, Sr., Division 2

Porterville Irrigation District

David E. Gisler, Division 2 Brett McCowan, Division 3 Eric Borba, Division 4

Stone Corral Irrigation District

Arturo Ramirez Joseph A. Leal

Tulare Irrigation District

Michael J. Thomas, Division 1 Dave F. Martin, Division 2

Orosi Memorial District

Leo Gonzalez, Director 1-Non-Veteran Chad Widman, Director 2-Veteran Gabriel Pena, Director 3-Veteran

Southern Tulare County Memorial District

Joe Ray McPhetridge, Seat #3-Non-Veteran Rose B. Rodriguez, Seat #2-Non-Veteran

Terra Bella Memorial District

Veronica A. Lopez, Seat #2-Non-Veteran Ruben Contreras, Seat #3-Veteran

Tulare Memorial District

Thomas Donwen, Non-Veteran

Cutler Public Utility District

Jose Guerrero, Seat #3 Fernie Rubalcaba, Seat #5

Ivanhoe Public Utility District

Ruben T. Solorio, Seat #2 Gerardo Sanchez, Seat #4 Gilbert B. Barajas, Seat #5

Pixley Public Utility District

Ronnie G. Prine, Seat #2

Woodville Public Utility District

Mary Ellen Valdivia, Seat #2 Andrew Castaneda, Seat #3 Lawrence Vasquez, Seat #4